CFAES Give Today
Ohio 4-H Youth Development

Ohio State University Extension


Ohio 4-H Hall of Fame Gains Four New Members

2022 Ohio 4-H Hall of Fame inductees.

Four dedicated 4-H volunteers became the newest members of the Ohio 4-H Hall of Fame this month. Steve Arnold, Robert McBride, Donna Missler, and JoAnn Skiles were inducted at the 2023 Ohio 4-H Conference on March 11 at the Greater Columbus Convention Center.

Steve Arnold of Wood CountyThe breadth of Steve Arnold’s volunteerism is the greatest example of his dedication to 4-H. He founded and advised two 4-H clubs in Wood County, served on the Wood County 4-H Committee for more than 20 years, and continues to volunteer as an adult staff member at 4-H camp. In addition to his county involvement, Arnold is a member of the Ohio 4-H Conference Planning Committee, State 4-H Shooting Sports Committee, and Buckeye Leadership Workshop Committee.Robert McBride of Hardin County

Over the 59 years Robert McBride has volunteered with Hardin County’s Blanchard Pleasant Buckeyes Club, he has advised three generations of club members and shared his expertise in livestock, shop projects, and public speaking. He has judged projects in several counties and at the Ohio State Fair for decades and, before retiring from his position as FFA advisor at Hardin Northern Schools, forged a lasting partnership between Hardin County’s FFA Chapters and the 4-H program.

Donna Missler of Williams CountyDonna Missler became the head advisor for the Stars of 4-H Club in 1985 and since then, has supported 4-H’ers who have gone on to become doctors, lawyers, pharmacists, veterinarians, seamstresses, and nurses. In 1997, she became Williams County’s Master Clothing Educator and has shared her knowledge with her club, county, and at the state level as a project judge. Missler helped establish the first endowment committee in 2000 and helped grow this fund over the years to generate money that enables youth to go on trips, attend camps, and earn educational scholarships.JoAnn Skiles of Williams County

As a nationally certified shooting sports coordinator and state certified pistol, rifle, and archery instructor, JoAnn Skiles loves sharing her knowledge with youth by teaching at the county and state level. She volunteers at the National Shooting Sports Event in Nebraska and served as a shooting sports project judge in Ohio and Michigan since 2008. Skiles also helped found the Williams County Endowment in 2002 and helps raise thousands of dollars each year to support youth.


Join us in congratulating the other award winners at this year’s Ohio 4-H Conference:

Ohio Friend of 4-H Award

Dr. Augustine Kellis, Geauga County

Fin Feather Fur Outfitters, Ashland County

Friends of Ohio 4-H Shooting Sports

Virgil Strickler, Fairfield County


4-H Meritorious Service Award

Regan Demshar, Lake County

Mary Harp, Ross County

Jerry Krebs, Clermont County

Teresa Stone, Washington County


4-H Community Service Award

Ace of Clubs 4-H Club, Licking County

Equine Club of Clermont County

Farms-N-Friends 4-H Club, Pike County


4-H Innovator Award

Melissa Stroupe, Delaware County


4-H Alumni Award

Megan Burgess, Hardin County

Jamie Loudon, Brown County

Stacey Russell, Muskingum County


Please join us in thanking all the sponsors who made this year’s awards ceremony possible: The Ohio 4-H Foundation, Fred and Kathy Pepple, Paul Hall & Associates Foundation, Lois Puskarich, Terracon, and Ron and Carolyn Cull