CFAES Give Today
Ohio 4-H Youth Development

Ohio State University Extension


Honoring Ohio 4-H Volunteers

Ann Marrison and her family

When Ann Marrison joined Ohio 4-H more than 65 years ago, she had no idea the youth organization would play such a lasting role in her life.

After spending 11 years as a 4-H member, the Ashtabula County resident went on to earn a degree in home economics and work as an agent with Ohio State University Extension. While she served as the county’s home economics agent, she regularly worked with 4-H members. After becoming a mother, she retired, but she continued working with 4-H youth for more than 50 years.

“4-H is a wonderful way to share knowledge, and I believe in what it teaches youth,” Marrison said. “It is one of the best things a kid can do, because it teaches responsibility and life skills. It also helps develop youth into community leaders and does a goodCharlotte Wagner job in preparing kids for life.”

Marrison is one of 99 people and organizations who will be recognized at the 2020 Ohio 4-H Awards recognition event on December 1. The event will be held virtually and will honor the 2020 Volunteer Awards, Hall of Fame inductees, Tenure Milestones, Teen of the Year, and the Teen Hall of Fame inductees who were unable to be recognized at the Ohio 4-H Conference, originally scheduled for March. Marrison received the 4-H Meritorious Service Award.

4-H volunteers who have served 4-H for 40, 45, 50, 55, 60, and 65 years will also be recognized with a special acknowledgment of Charlotte Wagner, a Washington County volunteer with more than 73 years of service.Russ Mayer

Another honoree, Russ Mayer from Morrow County, was the recipient of the 4-H Alumni Award. “4-H has been a wonderful experience throughout my life,” he said. “It contributed to my leadership skills and allowed me to develop friendships all over the state. The work that I do now as an adult volunteer is just me giving back to those who made my journey such a fun adventure.” 

Be sure to join us on December 1 as we recognize these volunteers who are vital to the Ohio 4-H program. Click here to register.




Alumni Award

Russ Mayer, Morrow County

Lu Phillips, Lorain County

Community Service

Eric Clary, Gallia County

Country Kids & Kritters 4-H Club, Mahoning County

Greener Fields 4-H Club, Geauga County

Friend of 4-H

LaDonna Henson, Ashland County

Janet Kemp, Tuscarawas County

Quest Federal Credit Union, Hardin County

Rural King Stores, Pike County

Hall of Fame

Jane Copenhefer, Licking County

David Greer, Knox County

Victor Long, Lorain County


John Smith, Washington County


Meritorious Service

Ann Marrison, Ashtabula County

Teen of the Year

Emmy Beck-Aden, Athens County

Teen Hall of Fame

Brooke Fleshman, Franklin County

Kayla Kramer, Delaware County

Trevor Minyo, Fayette County

Laura Wood, Brown County

40 Years of Volunteer Service    

Suzanne Taylor, Allen

Warne Crocker, Brown

Sandra Kay North, Champaign

Mary Blackburn, Clark

Margaret Donaldson-Fisher, Columbiana

June Hunter, Coshocton

Barbara Koschnick, Crawford

Pamela Hunt, Darke

Nancy Linebaugh, Darke

Ronald Cull, Erie

Carla Smith, Greene

Constance Dietz, Hardin

Lois Wright, Harrison

Dale Gilliland, Jackson

Karen Gilliland, Jackson

Cynthia Magers, Knox

Shirley Latimer, Lake

Troy Hardy, Lawrence

Sis Bland, Licking

Forrest Smythe, Licking

Glenna Seeley, Logan

Richard Baldinger, Marion

Sharon Baldinger, Marion

John Lowe, Medina

Diana Novotny, Medina

Kristen Robinson, Medina

Diane Miller, Miami

Janice Wise-Schneider, Miami

Gerald Black, Montgomery

Sheila Bushong, Montgomery

Calvin Helsinger, Montgomery

Kenneth Batteiger, Muskingum

Deborah Deal, Muskingum

Nancy Moss, Portage

Denise Kern, Ross

Carolyn Garrett, Scioto

Sally Behr, Shelby

Millie Augenstein, Stark

Dorothy Monter, Stark

Jennifer Smith, Stark

Carolyn Barker, Trumbull

Barbara Likens, Trumbull

Dennis McCoy, Van Wert

Linda Prochazka, Wayne

Doug Michaelis, Wood

45 Years of Volunteer Service

Ruth Schwartz, Auglaize

Linda Cook, Columbiana

Donald Auck, Crawford

Cherlyn Deck, Cuyahoga

Judy Driscoll, Erie

Paula Jean Savage, Fulton

Donna Galusick, Geauga

Carolyn Piergallini, Jefferson

Joe Box, Lucas

Kathleen Garrison, Medina

Judy Siman, Medina

Debra Heppe, Portage

Michael Anderson, Ross

Wanda Sawyer, Trumbull

Jayne Steffel, Williams

50 Years of Volunteer Service

Marjorie Berkey, Ashtabula

Virginia Seifert, Ashtabula

Jerry Krebs, Clermont

Alice Donaldson, Columbiana

Billie Schmitz, Fairfield

John Hiser, Fayette

Rita Bishop, Huron

Judith Simpson, Jackson

Wanda Hardy, Lawrence

Thomas Eppley, Lorain

Kathleen Moser, Mahoning

Raymond Brough, Ottawa

Vicki Brough, Ottawa

Judy Morrison, Ross

Priscilla Sprang, Wayne

Patricia Seifert, Wyandot

55 Years of Volunteer Service

Wayne Arnold, Fayette

Tony Carrera, Mahoning

60 Years of Volunteer Service

Ada Sue Workman, Ashland

Patricia Ambler, Jefferson

Norma Karnehm, Miami

Robert Karnehm, Miami

William Hershner, Morrow

Robert Wickert, Fremont

65 Years of Volunteer Service

Dorothy Montgomery, Muskingum

73 Years of Volunteer Service

Charlotte Wagner, Washington